Gospel Story

On the Steps

My heart soared.  We would show what would happen to a false prophet.
Benjamin brought the cross.  I held the elbows of the condemned tightly, though he made no move to escape.
An elder man with skin the color of ash walked past our procession.  Benjamin grabbed him and pressed the cross to him to carry.
“You ought let him pass.  He has done nothing to you.”
I hit him.  “You are in no place to make requests.  You are condemned.”
“Caleb, why do you stand against me.”
“Stop calling me by my name.  I have never given it to you.”
“You did not need.  I read it on your heart.”
“Another lie.  You heard it somewhere.  In the temple.  You are trying to undermine the chief priests.”
“I am showing you a new way.  If you do not believe me when I am here, how will you believe when I have gone?”

Luke 23:26-31 Morning Prayer

Cover Art

Leave a comment